Do I need a visa?

You might need a visa to travel to France or to the French territories depending on your nationality, purpose and length of stay.

France’s territory in Europe is part of the Schengen area. The Schengen area also comprises the territory of other European Union and associated States: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

1. Short stays (less than 90 days in the Schengen area)

A short stay is a stay in the Schengen area lasting less than 90 days or a succession of stays totaling less than 90 days in any period of 180 days.

Malaysian citizens do not need a visa for a short stay in France and in the Schengen area countries. However, even if Malaysian citizens are exempted of visa, the police at the Schengen border may ask them to show regulatory proof of the purpose of their stay, means of subsistence and proof of accommodation.

You are not a Malaysian citizen: Please check this page to see whether you are visa-exempt.

2. Long stays (over 90 days in France)

Only Nationals of the following countries are exempt from entry and long-stay visa requirements: Member States of the European Union and the European Economic area (EEA), Andorra, Monaco and Switzerland.

Latest modification 26/11/2015

top of the page